It’s illegal to operate a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If caught driving a car with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of .08 percent, you could get arrested and charged with a DUI offense.
You can lose your driver’s license after a drunk driving charge in two ways. Law enforcement can suspend your license immediately if you decline a field sobriety test, such as a breathalyzer.
Another way to lose your driving privileges is following a DUI conviction. The duration of your license suspension, as well as other charges for a DUI, depends on your BAC, whether you have any prior convictions and if your impaired driving caused any accidents or injury.
What Happens When You Get a DUI?
If you are driving under the influence and get caught due to reckless or careless driving, you will likely get pulled over and questioned by law enforcement. This will also include a field sobriety test if they believe you are under the influence of drugs and alcohol.
A first-time DUI offense comes with penalties of up to six months in jail, fines of up to $1,075, and a license suspension of up to three years. Instead of jail, with the help of an attorney, you could get approved for a three-day driver intervention program (DIP).
With repeat offenses, the penalties increase—more jail time, fines, and a longer license suspension. In situations where your impaired driving causes a car accident, serious bodily harm, or death, you could face vehicular manslaughter charges and an extended prison sentence.
How Do I Get My License Back?
When police arrest you on suspicion of drunk driving, you face an automatic license and administrative license suspension. In Ohio, if you blow over the .08 percent legal limitation for drinking, your license is immediately suspended based on this result alone.
An experienced attorney, however, can represent you and petition the court for a temporary driver’s license in the interim so that you can drive to work.
The Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) has specific requirements for reinstating your driver’s license after a DUI offense. You must first meet all conditions of your sentence, including waiting out the suspension period, completing an alcohol program (if applicable), and paying off all citations and fines, including a $475 reinstatement fee.
Can an Attorney Help Me?
Your driver’s license could be suspended anywhere from 90 days to a maximum sentence of five years after a DUI conviction. This is also true if you refute a chemical test from law enforcement.
A DUI charge can cause significant disruption to your life, before and after. An attorney can lessen the burden and help you apply for a temporary or hardship driver’s license to get to and from work as you await your court date and sentencing.
Finally, the help and experience of an attorney will be instrumental in your DUI charge. Our law firm can contest the evidence against you and possibly reduce your sentence or get your charges dropped if there isn’t enough information to convict you of a DUI offense. Contact our legal team today at 513-548-5544 to get immediate legal assistance in your case.