It is illegal to drive a vehicle or intend to operate a car while under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or both. In Ohio, you cannot use a motor vehicle with a blood or breath alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or greater.
A first offense results in up to six months of jail time, fines up to $1,075, and a license suspension of up to three years. In a second offense, you could receive six months in jail, fines up to $1,625, and a license suspension of up to seven years.
Drunk driving penalties are further exacerbated when impaired driving causes a car accident. The potential of a more significant sentence also grows when an impaired person leaves the scene of an accident and causes injury, serious bodily harm, or death.
If you are facing misdemeanor or felony charges resulting from drunk driving, contact our law firm to see how we can help today.
What Happens in a Hit and Run Drunk Driving Accident?
Drivers must stop immediately in a car accident, exchange contact and insurance information, and contact the police and medical assistance for any injuries.
The unexpectedness of hitting a car while driving under the influence (DUI) can cause panic and fear. It’s not uncommon for these emotions to negatively affect your decision-making abilities in the heat of the moment.
Leaving the crime scene, so to speak, on a public road or highway is called a hit skip. Penalties include first-degree misdemeanor charges, up to six months in jail, $500 fines, and a six-month license suspension.
What are the Possible Charges for Leaving the Scene of an Accident?
Fleeing the scene of an accident, especially if you were drunk driving, is illegal. It’s also considered an admission of guilt by police and the court system. In addition to traffic violations for causing a car accident and a DUI, a hit-skip could result in separate charges.
If convicted of these additional offenses, you could face other penalties for any property damage, serious injuries, fatal injuries, and a high blood alcohol content (BAC) level.
Possible charges include up to 180 days in jail, fines up to $1,000, points on your driver’s license, license suspension, and responsibility for the damage to the other driver’s vehicle. A fatal accident that causes wrongful death could result in involuntary manslaughter and prison time.
Read More: Consequences of multiple DUIs in Ohio
Can I Get My Charges Dropped if I Hire an Attorney?
Ohio law is tough on intoxicated drivers who cause property damage, injuries, or wrongful death while driving impaired due to alcohol or drugs.
The most complex DUI cases involve a car accident, and the prosecution will likely push for an extended sentence for the hit skip. This could include more jail time, steep fines, license suspension, and other penalties.
Given the high stakes of a hit-skip offense, you must consider hiring an experienced law firm, especially if it involves injury or property damage. If found guilty, you are at the hands of the prosecution and the judge. As such, you could face the maximum sentence without legal representation.
We’ve helped clients in simple and complex cases, and our ambitious firm is ready and prepared to go the distance in your case. Contact our team today at 513-548-5544 and book a free consultation.